Entrepreneurial Investments

Alberta Entrepreneurship Incubator program

Overview

The Alberta Entrepreneurship Incubator program is a two-stream initiative funded over two years by the Government of Alberta’s Ministry of Economic Development and Trade, administered by Alberta Innovates. The purpose of this program is to offer support for prospective entrepreneurs with innovative ideas, recent graduates seeking employment and anyone who has the opportunity to create new products or concepts after service in a traditional industry sector.

The first stream, the Accelerator Expansion Support stream, supports physical storefront locations (“incubators”) across the province, which in turn supports innovative businesses, entrepreneur development and job creation for the growth and diversification of the Alberta economy.

Entrepreneurs can go to these incubators to have their ideas professionally assessed by qualified business development advisors, and to receive advice, coaching and guidance on the state of readiness for product development, a path to success, and in many cases, an invitation to occupy space in an assigned incubation space in their region.

Through these incubators, entrepreneurs can be connected to the second stream, a suite of funding choices designed to provide support not currently available in Alberta’s innovation system, that will enable new business to accelerate their growth. Through the Entrepreneur Seed, Bridge and Growth Vouchers, and the Entrepreneurial Internship, entrepreneurs can retain one or more service or product providers, or a mentor company, to assist with early start-up development.

For more information about this program, download this brochure or contact the business development advisor nearest you.

Incubators and Business Development Advisors

Location, Incubator and BDA Name  Contact Information
 Lethbridge
Tecconnect
BDA: Renae Barlow (renae@chooselethbridge.ca)
BDA: Bruce Thurston (thurcorp@shaw.ca)
BDA: Darren Neuberger (hello@redjolt.ca)
BDA: Bill Halley (halleyconsulting@shaw.ca)
BDA: Leslie Warren  (leswarren78@gmail.com)
BDA: Tim Rempel (trempel@2rinc.ca)
BDA: Mark Vella (mark@advertiise.com)
BDA: Mika Nakashima (mika@chooselethbridge.ca)
 3582 – 30 Street NW
Lethbridge, AB  T1H 6Z4
Medicine Hat
Medicine Hat College
BDA: Christie Dick (cdick@mhc.ab.ca)
 299 College Drive SE
Medicine Hat, AB  T1A 3Y6
Community Futures Entre-Corp
BDA: Pat Guist (pguist@albertacf.com)
 556 4 Street SE
Medicine Hat, AB  T1A 0K8
Grande Prairie
Community Futures Grande Prairie
BDA: Holly Sorgen (holly.sorgen@albertacf.com)
BDA: Shane Wallis (shane.wallis@albertacf.com)
#325, 9909 – 102 Street
Grande Prairie, AB  T8V 2V4
Lloydminster
Startup Lloydminster
BDA: Wendy Plandowski (eir@startuplloyd.com)
Box 1013 Stn. Main
Lloydminster, AB  T9V 3B4
Edmonton
TEC Edmonton
BDA: Lan Tan (lan.tan@tecedmonton.com)
 4000 TEC Centre
Enterprise Square
10230 Jasper Avenue
Edmonton, AB  T5J 4P6
Startup Edmonton
BDA: Shay Barker (shay@startupedmonton.com)
 301, 10359 – 104 Street NW
Edmonton, AB  T5J 1B9
NAIT
BDA: Ryan Theriault (RTheriault@nait.ca)
 11762 – 106 Street NW
Edmonton, AB  T5G 2R1
Northern Alberta Business Incubator (NABi)
BDA: Noreen Hoskins (noreen@nabi.ca)
BDA: Brittney Roy (brittney@nabi.ca)
 NABI Commons
118, 205 Carnegie Drive
St. Albert, AB  T8N 5B2
Red Deer
Catapult Entrepreneurs
BDA: Danielle Klooster (dklooster@catapultentrepreneurs.ca)
 2nd Floor
5301 – 50 Avenue
Red Deer, AB
Calgary
Calgary Innovation Coalition
Central intake:
bmc@calgaryinnovationcoalition.ca
 For specific locations, visit:
www.calgaryinnovationcoalition.ca

Successful applicants should be familiar with program documentation:

Program Contact Information

Name: Isabel Salcedo
Title: Program Associate
Phone: 780-450-5556
Email: Isabel.Salcedo@albertainnovates.ca