Alberta Innovates is pleased to be a partner for the Queen Elizabeth II's Jubilee Medal (Alberta) program and have the honour of bestowing ten medals upon individuals who have made significant contributions to the province of Alberta.

The commemorative medal was created to mark the 70th anniversary of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II's accession to the Throne as the Queen of Canada. In 2022, the Medal will be awarded to 7,000 Albertans who, like the late Queen, have dedicated themselves to family, community, and country.

Employees of Alberta Innovates, InnoTech Alberta, and C-FER Technologies were invited to submit candidates for consideration who meet the criteria for this award. Submissions were evaluated by an Awards Committee comprised of Lyn Brown, Vice President Marketing and Communications for Alberta Innovates; Rollie Dykstra, Executive Vice President, Impact for Alberta Innovates; and Dawna Bergum, Director of Human Resources for C-FER Technologies. Ten nominees were then put forward to the Government of Alberta - Queen Elizabeth II Platinum Jubilee Medal Administrator.

Ten outstanding individuals who have made contributions to the province and its research and innovation ecosystem received Queen Elizabeth II's Platinum Jubilee Medals on behalf of Alberta Innovates on December 14 at a formal presentation ceremony.

Medal recipients come from a variety of professional backgrounds and have left an indelible mark on their professions, communities, and province. Each has demonstrated exceptional qualities and outstanding service in their own field. Alberta Innovates is proud to honour them with this special recognition.

The full list of recipients is available below. Congratulations to all on this significant achievement.

Any inquiries related to QEII Platinum Jubilee Medals at Alberta Innovates may be directed to

Alberta Innovates - QEII Platinum Jubilee Medal Recipients

Kathryn Graham (Alberta Innovates)

Dr. Kathryn Graham is an international leader in amplifying economic and societal impacts of research and innovation. She is a founder of the International School on Research Impact Assessment and a Canadian Academy of Health Sciences fellow, committed to making Canada a leader in impact science.

Michael Hill (University of Calgary)

Dr. Michael Hill led a groundbreaking study that changed the standard of care for Ischemic Stroke worldwide. His innovative, international trial successfully demonstrated the life-changing benefits of a new procedure that reduces brain tissue damage, improving the recovery of countless patients.

Cornelia Kreplin (CAAIN)

Dr. Cornelia Kreplin has made significant contributions to Alberta and Canada in agriculture, innovation, and pathology. She spearheaded Canada's first food safety strategy to ensure supply and built the Canadian Agri-Food Automation and Intelligence Network (CAAIN), linking smart farms across Canada.

Cam Matthews (C-FER Technologies)

Cam Matthews has significantly impacted the safety and efficiency of the energy industry in Alberta and beyond as an influential contributor to the upstream oil and gas sector. He is well-known for his in-depth expertise on thermal and arctic wells and holds five patents.

Gail Powley (Technology Alberta)

Gail Powley empowers women in science, engineering, and technology. As a path blazer and change maker, she is founding chair of the Women in APEGA Advisory Group, and a member of the Alberta Women's Science Network and other groups creating a legacy of female inclusion in the innovation community.

Jan Slaski (InnoTech Alberta)

Dr. Jan Slaski is a world-renowned expert in industrial hemp, a prolific speaker, and dedicated community volunteer. He is committed to making hemp profitable for Alberta as food, fibre, and medicine. His influence extends to roles on numerous scientific committees in Canada and Australia.

Cody Slater (Blackline Safety)

Cody Slater is a successful entrepreneur and community philanthropist. He protects 110,000 workers as CEO of Blackline Safety, manufacturing wearable technology with live monitoring for fast emergency response. Cody established two family foundations to support non-profit organizations in Canada.

Connie Stacey (Growing Greener Innovations)

Connie Stacey is a tireless advocate for underrepresented entrepreneurs in Alberta. She created Growing Greener Innovations to provide dependable, affordable power to as many people as possible, ensuring those in remote communities do not have to live without reliable power.

Mark Stephens (C-FER Technologies)

Mark Stephens led scientific achievements that have enhanced the industrial integrity and environmental performance of energy pipelines worldwide. He has been involved in development of four North American pipeline standards and his 2005 fire hazard area model is referenced to this day.

Sean Watt (InnoTech Alberta)

Sean Watt has dedicated his life to serving Canadians and Albertans in the military, in his community, and as an advocate for his colleagues as chair of the AUPE Local 060 union. An avid volunteer and mentor, he helped more than 50 graduate students advance their research and careers.