Alberta Innovates CEO Laura Kilcrease is one of several leaders being honoured as an inaugural member of the Austin Tech Hall of Fame in recognition of her past leadership in the American tech city.

The Austin Technology Council held a special celebration the evening of June 4 to celebrate the first eight members of its new Tech Hall of Fame. Laura, as the founder of Triton Ventures, worked extensively in Austin starting in the 1980s to support its growth as a technology and innovation centre and diversify itself from a primary oil and gas economy. She was the founder of the Austin Technology Incubator (ATI), one of the United States’ early technology business incubators, and co-founder of the Austin Technology Council itself.

In creating the award, the Technology Council opened the process to community nominations with more than 50 names being nominated. Joining Laura in her initial class to be recognized are:

  • John S. Butler
  • Michael Dell
  • Lori Hawkins
  • Bobby Inman
  • George Kozmetsky
  • Jimmy Treybig
  • James Truchard

Laura thanked the Technology Council for the recognition while attending the Banff Innovation Summit just prior to Inventures 2024, see the video message below:


Darrell Winwood

Senior Manager, Corporate Relations